Heritage site of one of the first toll booths built in 1804.
La Maison Déry is one of the first toll stations in Quebec. Today it is an interpretation center. Maison Déry was built in 1804 and its main function was to be a toll booth. Subsequently, the Déry Site became very popular for fishing since it is near the gorges of the Jacques-Cartier River.
After several years of neglect, the site was classified historic in 1984 by the government of Quebec and has been fully restored. It is now managed by the Corporation of historic sites of Pont-Rouge, a non-profit organization that also manages Le Moulin Marcoux.
Today, Maison Déry is open to the public as an interpretation center. Two guides are ready to welcome visitors to offer guided tours. The site is completely renovated and a pedestrian path allows to admire it. A place to discover! Discover the profession of toll collector, salmon fishing, the restoration of this heritage site. From June to October.
Guided tours, hiking trail along the Jacques-Cartier River with wooden footbridges.
Contact information :
418-873-1676 & 418-873-2027